The following letter, which was signed by more than 200 prominate democrats from around the state, was sent to the State Legislature in an effort to convince members there to support marriage equality:

We believe that equality and fairness are fundamental principles of New Jersey’s Democratic Party, and that is why we call on the state legislature to vote immediately on, and pass, the marriage equality bill.

New Jersey has a proud history of supporting civil rights. It was this legacy that encouraged many of us to become involved in politics. We believe that allowing committed gay and lesbian couples to marry is, at its core, about treating our family members, friends, coworkers, and neighbors with dignity and respect.

We appreciate that this is a difficult issue for some state legislators. But marriage equality is an idea whose time has come. We are confident that the voters will stand by those elected officials who do the right thing.

When our children and grandchildren look back on this moment, we want to be able to tell them that we, too, did the right thing.

As Martin Luther King poignantly reminded us, “the arc of the moral universe is long but it bends toward justice.” That is why we’re proud to lend our names and our voices to this important cause. We do so in our capacity as private citizens and Democratic voters, and not on behalf of any particular office or organization.

The full list of signers:

Philip Alagia

Stephanie Albanese
Albert Alvarez
Hiver Ambrose
Rob Angelo
Byron Arnao
Paul Aronsohn
Frank Askin
Alison Badgett
Ann Baker
Edward Barocas
John Bartlett
Elsbeth Battel
Dan Benson
Rosemary Bernardi
Michael Beson
Ravinder S. Bhalla
Randy Bishop
Rick Bolger
Peter Bondi
Cory Booker
John Borowsky
Barry Brendel
Kelsi Browning
Tonio Burgos
Marge Caldwell-Wilson
Aaron Carter
Jason Cassese
Leah Casterlin
Bill Castner
Salma Chand
Ron Chen
Colleen Connolly
Tai Cooper
Rob Corrales
Maureen Coxwell
Jenny Crumiller
Jeff Curley
Sean Darcy
Bob DeCheine
Lizette Delgado-Polanco
David DelVecchio
Steve DeMicco
Shane Derris
George Devanney
Donna Dolce
Chris Donnelly
Craig Dorsett
Janellen Duffy
Liz Duthie
Charles Eader
Rosi Efthim
Paul Eisenman
Michael Embrich
John Evans
Everette Falt
Ben Feldman
June Fischer
MichaelAaron Flicker
Janice Fuller
John Fuller
Karen Gaffney
Allen Gannett
Jeff Gardner
Rob Garrison
James Gee
Angelo J. Genova
Mike Giglio
Brendan Gill
John Gizis
Jen Godoski
Chad Goerner
Adam Goldfarb
Steven Goldstein
Vin Gopal
Jeff Grayzel
Adam Green
Marta Harrison
Avery Hart
Maria Havasy
Joshua Henne
Victor Herlinsky
Carol Hoernlein
Rush Holt
Deborah Howlett
Rafi Jafri
Michele Jaker
Kyle Jasey
Bianca Jerez
Paul Josephson
Jeffrey Kaszerman
Dan Katz
Michael Kempner
Sheila Kenny
Steven W. Kleinman
Justin Kolman
Janice Kovach
Orin S. Kramer
April Kuzas
Adam Lambert
Justin Lambert
Tim Larsen
Jay Lassiter
Brad Lawrence
Bertin Lefkovic
Chris Leitner
Liz Lempert
Steve Lenox
Cathleen Lewis
Juanita Lewis
Kay LiCausi
Mada Liebman
Brooke Liebowitz
Doris Lin
Jose Lozano
Ian MacAllen
Blair MacInness
Gordon MacInness
Colleen Mahr
Francisco Maldano-Ramirez
Claire Manning
James W. Manning, Jr.
Marcia Marley
Laura Matos
Mark Matzen
Rocco A. Mazza
John McCarthy
Raymond J. McCarthy
Regan McGrory
Matt McHale
Jack McHugh
Pat McKenna
Cathy McLaughlin
Juan Melli
Alicia Menendez
Rob Menendez, Jr.
Naomi Michaelis
Ruth Miller
Bernie Miller
Maggie Moran
Tricia Mueller
Neil Mullin, Esq.
Lauren Murphy
Michael Murphy
Rachel Napear
Adam Neary
William Northgrave
Joseph Novick
Ed Oatman
Lucy O’Brien
Bonne O’Flanagan
Kat Orr
Frank Pallone
Jim C. Peeler
Desiree Peterkin
Cristina Pinzon
Barbara Plumeri
Braxton J. Plummer
Andrew Poag
Michael Premo
Dan Preston
Ronald C. Rice
Chip Robinson
Julie Roginsky
Arlene Romoff
Mariel Rosen
Hetty Rosenstein
Keith M. Rosso
Steve Rothman
Nathan Rudy
Jorge Santos
Peg Schaffer
Julie Schreck
Carolyn Schwebel
John C. Schwebel
Michael Sedita
Jed Seltzer
Shawn Sheekey
Scott Shields
Zach Silber
Troy Singleton
Babs Siperstein
David Smith
Nancy Erika Smith
Vincent Solomeno
Robert Sommer
James Souder
Jason Springer
Domenick Stampone
Adam Steinberger
Jake Stuiver
Carol Tangorra
Rosanna J. Tangorra
Earl Thomas Teasley
Brett Tinder
John Valentine
Frank Vespa-Papaleo
Tom Vincz
Joe Waks
Mike Wallace
Elnardo Webster
Dana Wefer
Scott Weingart
Terry West
Joseph Wojtecki
Betty Wyka
Tom Wyka
David York
Alison Zayas
Joshua Zeitz
Harry Zikas, Jr.
Dawn Zimmer
Matt Zinader
Ed Zipprich

Leave a comment

Filed under Democrats, Marriage Equality, New Jersey, open letter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s